Lifestyle & Wellbeing

What I learnt from 2016…

Hey there! Happy New Year!! We have finally made it into a new year. What a relief – phew!!! A lot of us were very glad to see the back of 2016 simply because it was a ‘bad’ year. Nothing seemed to go right, conflict and disarray seemed the norm on daily news and death had a free pass on many notable people. What a year 2016 was! However, as much I have entered 2017 with hope and expectation for plenty of good and success, I cannot go forward if I do not acknowledge the past and all that it taught me. Without lessons learned it can be hard to move, so here is what 2016 taught me:

Forgiveness and Letting go

This was probably my biggest lesson which kept popping up all throughout the year. Like this new year, I started 2016 with hope for better things to come, but it quickly went down hill with what seemed like a domino effect of problems. I realised that I was holding on to a lot of hurt and anger which I just supressed and never really dealt with. This was to my own detriment, as it meant that those issues had power over my inner peace and my mind. Time and again, I was presented with and went through situations which would force me to confront those ‘demons’, deal with them and forgive and let go. Once I had forgiven those who had hurt me or left an internal scar, a complete weight was lifted each time. I felt lighter, my mind was a little more free and I had space to fill that void with positivity. Continuing this act in 2017 will be a big feature in my daily life. Holding on to grudges, hurts and past pains only allows them to keep you hostage to those feelings and a ‘cloud’ of negativity that seems to follow you everywhere. When you forgive and let go, you are accepting a new freedom to live a life full of joy, positivity and abundance. Let it go.

Compassion

It is so easy to get wrapped up in your problems, especially if you have a few and close together. It is that easy that you forget there are other people around you and in the world who have problems too. We all have struggles. We all have challenges. Simply put we all got problems. That doesn’t mean that we should be so consumed with our situation that we forget to remember others. It didn’t take me long in 2016 before I felt a heavy conviction showing me that I wasn’t the only one with problems and that I could be empathetic towards others and their situations too – not that I was a horrid person but the feeling of compassion was a lot stronger than usual. I felt that conviction a lot. I would find myself feeling and showing compassion in places I least expected it and at moments that caught me off guard. It was something that took me by surprise if I am honest, but it is something I have learned to listen to. We are all humans and we all need a little help sometimes. Something as small as a smile could make difference. Showing that you understand that ‘life’s hard’ and giving a little help here and there definitely makes a difference, even if you don’t see it straight away. So in 2017, I will continue to hold onto the spirit of compassion and lend a helping hand, ear or word wherever I can. In the words of Michael Jackson ‘tell them that it’s nature’.

 

Motherhood is a UNIQUE journey

Although I have two children, I found that having a second child in the family mix was definitely more challenging. I spent long periods wondering if I would ever get my life back. I often questioned myself and whether motherhood was going to be my only role/job as I had started a family. I battled long and hard internally with my role as a mother. I finally realised after speaking to a counsellor that motherhood is a unique journey. To be a mother is a blessing. Children in fact are blessings and to be entrusted with the life, nurturing, moulding and growth of an infant is a sacred role. Every mother will experience a different journey. All children are different. They will test your patience, make you want to scream and pull your hair out and downright get on your nerves sometimes, but they will also make you smile with the littlest of developments, show you an immense amount of love and look up to you for approval with every step. All these make the job worth while and what motherhood is actually about. So for this year, I am going to make the most of my motherhood journey. I will be present and enjoy the good times and highs. I will also remind myself that those times that feel unbearable or hard will not last forever. I am doing the best that I can for my children, and my best is good enough!

Go for your dreams

My last lesson was a tough one that I deliberated on for almost all of 2016 before taking action. I was very unhappy in my job and I knew there was something more out there for me to pursue. Something that would edify me and give me satisfaction at the end of each day, but also give back in someway. I finally took the leap of faith in October and left my job. What a relief I felt!!! I was like the heavy stone that was pulling me under water had been released and I could finally swim to the surface for air. I felt free. I will say that it is not a step easily taken and takes much persuasion from ones self. It hasn’t been completely easy since I left the world of a stable and constant pay check, but it has been worth it. I have been able to reignite my passion, work on business plans and start projects with associates/friends – something I probably would not have been able to achieve had I the responsibility of a permanent role within a company. In the time from October till the new year I not only realised my dreams once again, I also realised that we only have one life. We can choose to live a predictable life which will be constant and stable, but can easily become unfulfilling and full of regrets for not every trying. Time is a precious gift we can never get back. We never know when our life as we know it will one day end. So I have chosen this year to follow my dreams, take risks, live life to the fullest, laugh a lot, dream big, travel the world and speak life into all stagnant areas of my life.

 

I have every faith that 2017 is going to be a good year. I have renewed my mind, adapted my thought process, made a conscious effort to attract positivity and live the life I have always wanted. The challenges I faced in 2016 were not to break me but to make me. The lessons I learned were equipping me with the tools I needed for the places that I will go this year. I am ready to face 2017 head on, I’m ready to fight for mine. Are you ready to fight for yours?

Until next time,

Ohemaa Beauty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

