skincare

Review: The Body Shop Chinese Ginseng & Rice clarifying polishing Face Mask

20161031_122223

20161031_124705

 

20160917_220313

 

Hello readers! With the change of seasons complete and autumn finally settled in, we can certainly move to skincare products that will help with those little problems that the colder weather brings. Today I will be reviewing a personal favourite of mine, a face mask from The Body Shop – the Chinese Ginseng and Rice clarifying polishing face mask.

This mask came out a few months ago as part of a natural mask range to deal with different skin types and problems. I already had their seaweed clay mask, but I needed something that dealt with areas of rough skin on my face from hormonal breakouts and this mask was recommended. The mask is marketed as a clarifying and polishing product that should be used as in intense treatment to deal with dullness and unevenness.

The mask comes in simple, but beautiful packaging. The actual product comes in a heavy duty glass jar which makes it feel a bit more high end and luxurious. It contains 75ml of product and comes in at £15, a very reasonable price point for the amount you get. It won’t break the bank and is definitely a nice treat to yourself!

The mask is white in colour, with a grainy texture due to the rice in it. It is a little thick but not stiff like clay masks, so it is very easy to apply and manoeuvre around your face. The beauty of this mask is you can apply it with a brush or your hand due to its texture, which definitely saves on application time. What I love most about the mask is that you can actually massage it into your skin and the rice grains will polish/exfoliate your skin without being too harsh or scratching. It also has a little tingling sensation which lets you know it is working.

I tend to apply the mask with my fingers just before I take a bath and leave it on for about 10-15 minutes so that it has a chance to work on top layers of my skin. Just before I wash it off, I massage the mask into my skin, concentrating on the problem areas I am trying to treat and then rinse. It does take a bit rinsing to get it off, so I would suggest using a facial sponge or face towel to help with that part. However, once you wash it off your skin feels baby bottom soft and oh so smooth! ;D Every time I use this mask I do not even want to put any additional products on my face afterwards, that is how well it works. Once I use it, any dullness and roughness I had goes and my skin feels fresh and my complexion looks fresh and renewed again.

Overall, I would give this product a 4.5/5 rating. In terms of usability, effectiveness and consistency, it works very well. It is a good price point which most can afford, you get a good amount of product in the packaging and it really does what it says on the box. My only gripe with this mask is the taking it off. You do have to rinse your face a few times to get it completely off, but apart from that, this product definitely gets a thumbs up from me.

The mask range is available in most high street stores as well as online and you can actually try the product out in store before you buy!

Until next time,

 

Ohemaa Beauty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

