Beauty

Oh what Joy!!!

20161022_132546
On my way – a little effort was necessary!

 

20161022_160620
Before

 

 

20161022_173502
Skin and Eyes done!

 

20161022_173656
My model was really feeling herself 😀

 

Hey lovely people!!! Feeling super excited about today’s post because,….I finally got to have a one to one session with Joy Adenuga. Yes, the award winning, bridal extraordinaire make-up artist!!!! I will be giving you the low down on my time with her and what happened. So keep reading if you want to know more….

Trying to break into an already saturated industry/market is quite a task, but it is something I am very passionate about and I feel there are still more ways the beauty industry can cater to specific niche’s. Wanting to have a one on one make-up session, with a highly esteemed artist had been on my radar for a while and that is when I decided to take the plunge and contact Joy Adenuga.

I had attended one of her masterclasses last year (previous post here), and fell in love with her style of make-up and her finish product. That was when I just knew I had to meet her again personally. She was so professional and accommodating when I contacted her about having a personal session with her, that I immediately felt the excitement of it all.

The day of the session came and I literally made sure nothing on my part would stop me from attending this session I had organised. I had the children stay at my mum’s the night before, I was going through my makeup kit, organising, double checking and making sure everything was 100% correct. That didn’t stop me being late though! My model met me a bit late so that delayed us. You should have seen me whizzing down the A13 (dual carriageway) like a crazy driver trying to make up for lost time. I was determined for this day to go ahead and nothing was going to stop me, lol!

Joy was so warm and welcoming when we arrived. I apologised for the lateness, which she brushed off and we cracked on. What I enjoyed most was she allowed me to choose the direction in which the session would flow. I was able to tell here where I needed help and what other techniques I wanted to learn. She listened with an attentive ear and explained EVERYTHING that she was doing and why she was doing it. That to me, is the character of a true teacher! The session flowed nicely, we stopped every now and again to take pictures and of course Snapchat :D. What session is not complete with a little social media break in it?!

Then Joy had me recreate the look she had done on my model. I won’t lie, I was shaking in my bones, but she was cool and helped me as I went along. The small fear I had made me forget some of the colours she used, lol, but with her guidance I persevered and did it. We talked all things make-up, social media and breaking into the industry. It certainly helps to hear other peoples stories, struggles, ideals and thought process. It exposes you to new ways of thinking and looking at things and that is exactly what I got.

What an experience it was! We Laughed, we joked, but above all I learned A LOT. Organising the one on one session was one of the best decisions I have made in my quest to starting a business. I gained invaluable knowledge and tips and tricks, I learned what it means to be a self-employed working mother in 2016 and how to approach my business while my children are still very young (3 and 1). I will definitely be reaching out to other artists and those who I admire and inspire me moving forward. This is just the beginning of bigger and better things to come! Watch this space ;D

N.B. If you ever need a make-up artist and you are in the London area, definitely check Joy out. I very sure you will not be disappointed. I will leave her info below so go check her out!

 

Website: www.bridesbyjoy.com

Instagram: Joy Adenuga

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bridesbyjoy

Twitter: JoyAdenugaMUA

Hope you have a lovely week ahead and stay blessed.

Until next time,

 

Ohemaa Beauty xoxo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

