skincare

Natural beauty is….

20160406_093307

Natural beauty. The fresh rawness of bare skin. The openness of all the scars, unwanted features, celebrated ‘best parts’ and the aspiration to look ‘beautiful. What is natural beauty?

For me, natural beauty is a term which refers to my natural skin, features and their characteristics. However, it goes much deeper than skin deep. To me, it also describes our inner beauty. Beauty of the mind, body, spirit and soul. The body is our casing which holds all of these inner beauties and looking after our outer beauty is an essential which goes hand in hand with looking after our inner beauty.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have been looking at alternatives to skincare and beauty and have come across a few discoveries. Today I will be talking about body care and coconut oil. This oil is a natural oil which has been used for many centuries for skincare and medicinal uses. The western world has since caught on to its uses and benefits, leading to it has becoming a sort phenomenon/craze now. I had heard quite a bit about the ‘famous’ coconut oil prior to trying it out, but then decided to give it a try to see if it actually lived up to its hype.

20160617_220101

I must admit, when I first tried it I wasn’t completely sold as I brought a coconut oil that wasn’t pure or virgin. It was mixed with sweet almond oil and the scent smelt artificial, like it was added via some essential oils. However, I did not let that deter me. I later went on to buy a pure coconut oil which definitely swung my views on this lovely natural oil.

I use it as an all over body moisturiser. When used in moderation, it is not too greasy and definitely makes my skin feel moisturised. It leaves my skin feeling very soft and smooth and doesn’t get completely sucked into my skin that I am left with dry patches and having to top up during the day – a problem I had with other moisturisers. You get the natural smell of the coconut (anyone who has had coconut water/flesh from the actual nut will understand), and works well for a lot of skin types.

Some of its benefits include helping to eliminate dry skin, helping to fight bacterial and fungal infections and can even help with acne. Not to forget that it is an extremely good moisturiser that locks in moisture when used after a shower and it is also multi use so can be used to hair and consumption too! Who doesn’t like a multipurpose product. I know I sure do!!

My advice, give coconut oil a try. I am very sure you will be surprised by the results and honestly it is great value for money as a little product goes a long way. Want to look summer time fine all year round? Then give coconut oil a try.

Till the next post,

Stay blessed

Ohemaa Beauty xo

One thought on “Natural beauty is….

Leave a Reply

