Lifestyle & Wellbeing

Moving forward with change.

changeposter

Hello lovely people!!! I am good spirits at the moment as I read up on areas of interest and business while watching a tribute to HRH Queen Elizabeth II from her family as she turns 90. What a blessing it is to reach such a milestone! Can you imagine all that she has seen over her lifetime and all the changes she watched in our world over the years? Tomorrow is never promised. God’s word says He has given us 3 scores plus 10 on this earth so, anything beyond 60 years old is a blessing in my opinion.

Anyway, onto today’s topic. Change. Change is something inevitable. Something we cannot stop nor can we entirely inhibit it from occurring. We as humans tend to fight change, especially when we have become comfortable with a situation, circumstance or point in life. However, change, as much as we fight it can be good. It challenges us in ways we may never have imagined and opens us up to new things we may not have had a chance to experience had it not come along.

For me change has been long time coming and like normal I have been holding back on allowing it to happen. Not because I don’t want it to happen, but more because of fear of the unknown. Will I fail? Will I succeed? Will people take an interest in what I have to offer? So many unanswered questions which prompt me to hold back. I know that I should not let these things faze me so much because God has not given me a spirit of fear but a spirit of perfect love which casts out fear. However, I am human and it is normal to feel these things. So in order to move forward with change and allowing it to take its course these are a few things that I have been telling myself and using to reassure myself and give me that push to press on:

Have faith in yourself

Believing in yourself is one of the biggest things that anyone can do. In a world which is so easily distracting, fast paced and ultimately all about showing off these days, it can be easy to compare yourself to others and get really down about what you don’t have (physically and mentally). Like Patricia Bright recently posted about in her blog, staying in your lane is not bad but can actually be a good thing. Believe in your strengths. Self-analyse, what you are good at, where your strengths lie and use them to your advantage. Practice your craft and have confidence that what you have to offer is just as valid and worthy than the next person.

Trust God’s plan

I have always prayed ‘oh God please let your will be done in my life’ but never fully surrendered myself to His will and plan for my life until recently. It is hard always trying to control your destiny and where your life is heading. I am not saying don’t plan. Not at all. What I am saying is that have a plan but also include God in your plans. Pray about any situations you are facing and be reassured that God’s plan will coincide with yours. ‘11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.‘ – Jeremiah 29:11. This bible verse is one that gives me a little more courage to trust God and let go of fear and allow change to happen. I recently prayed about the changes in my life and I got the reassurance that I am taking the right steps through this verse in Isaiah 43:2 ‘When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;‘. This lets me know that God is in control and I have nothing to worry about. So be reassured in God that the changes you face will turn out for your good.

Work Hard

Becoming complacent and allowing procrastination to take over while we wait for change to happen is a big disservice that we do to ourselves. It’s far to easy to just ‘sit and wait’ for change to happen without being proactive, especially if we are aware of what the ‘change’ entails. So for me, I have been trying to push myself to work that extra bit harder to ensure that when the changes to come, I can sit confident know I have given my best and my all to make sure that the transition is as smooth as possible. Nothing good in life comes without struggle and I have been told that quite a few times in the last 9 months. So now it has become a mantra that has been engrained in me. I think it is a key sentence which we as people should adopt when we want to achieve anything in life and not just through the transition of change. A constant reminder to keep working hard and pushing forward so that we will come out better on the other side.

Those are just a few pointers that have been getting me through my period of transition and change. I still have a tad bit of fear of the uncertainty but, when I remind myself that I can do it and I will make it provided I keep putting one foot in front of the other I get a little boost. If I can do it, you sure can to! Believe in yourself. You are your number one cheerleader.

Hope this has helped anyone facing fear of change.

Have a blessed weekend,

 

Ohemaa Beauty xoxo

Leave a Reply

